Big relief for the Nagpurians as the civic body finally proposed not to increase the rate of property tax for the financial year 2020-21. The tax will be incurred as per the rates of the year 2019-20.

property tax

As per the source, the proposal was sanctioned in the standing committee meeting of the civic body on Tuesday and it will get a final nod in the general meeting. The civic administration taxes for the next financial year were given a sanction under the Maharashtra Municipal Corporations Act section 126(A) subsection 99.

The taxes include general tax, sanitation tax, education tax, special sanitation tax, water tax, road tax, lighting tax, fire brigade tax and similar taxes will remain the same as it was in the year 2019-20. The other tax including state government’s education tax, employment guarantee tax, and taxes on newly constructed buildings will remain the same. The standing committee also decided to appoint the new members for the standing committee as the tenure of eight members will be expiring on March 1, 2021, as per the Maharashtra Municipal Corporations Act section 20(3).

(With inputs from thelivenagpur)